Christian Fiction at Amazon

Wednesday

Blog Tour of If the Shoe Fits by Mailynn Griffith

This week Christian Fiction Alliance showcases IF the Shoe Fits," by Marilynn Griffith, prolific Christian romance novelist.
Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and Tangerine (Revell, January 2007). Marilynn also writes for Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series, (Revell, 2006).
Marilynn lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email: marilynngriffith@gmail.com Marilynn's blog: rhythmsofgrace

Have Glass Slipper, Need Prince....(don't we all?)

If the Shoe Fits is the second book in the Sassy Sistahood Novels. The first in the series was Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006).
"In all my thirty-five years, I, shoe designer Rochelle Gardner, have never had so many men interested in me! My teen son's dad is back in my life after suffering from amnesia (yes, really). The church deacon has had his eye on me for years (and never said a word). And the young waiter (from the restaurant I've visited for singles' events) is trying to steal my heart. I've been struggling with my faith, trying to figure out which man God has chosen for me and wondering if I have the courage to step forward, on my not-so-pretty feet, to accept love. It's almost too much for the Sassy Sistahood to handle, but my girlfriends always have my back!"

Marilynn Griffith's novels are heart-warming and hilarious! Underneath the outrageous situations the Sassy Sistahood finds itself in, Marilynn weaves the truth of God's love and grace.
You'll enjoy If the Shoe Fits."

---------------------
Be sure to check out the The Bookshelf Reviews 2.0: The Compendium. Kevin, Lauren, and Kris will be reporting on the latest in fiction.

Thursday

Book Notes

These books are excellent. I Highly Recommend them!

Coming February 2007 : It happens Every Spring, by Gary Chapman and Catherine Palmer, Tyndale House, ISBN 1-4143-1165-6 TyndaleFiction
The promo says, "The Four Seaasons fiction series based on the ever-changing cycles of relationships detailed in Gary Chapman's nonfiction book, The Four Seasons of Marriage. The novels will focus on four couples, each moving in and out of a different season."
I'm reading this now and looking forward to writing a full review of this excellent book! Stay tuned.

Give Me Liberty, by L.M. Elliott, Katherine Tegen Books, HarperCollinsChildrens ISBN: 978-0-06-074421-2. Liberty is written for ages 9 and up, appropriate for forth grade through middle school readers, but, I am enjoying this book immensely. Elliott's research vividly presents life at Williamsburg on the eve of the American Revolution. I love her descriptions of their food and contemporary songs.

Then Came Faith, Book One, by Louise M. Gouge, published by Emerald Pointe Books. ISBN 0-97851-372-X. Gouge, author of five novels including Hannah Rose, and winner of numerous awards for her fiction, shows the struggles Christians dealt with over slavery: She "skillfully positioned the protagonists in thought-battles," giving the reader insight into the struggles of "conflicting religious convictions" held between northern and southern Christians. Available at local bookstores or contact: Emerald Pointe Books, Attention: Editorial Department P.O. Box 35327 Tulsa, OK 74153.

The Scarlet Trefoil, by L. A. Kelly, 2007, published by Fleming H. Revell, Baker Publishing Group, Grand Rapids, MI. ISBN: 0-8007-3156-5, List price $12.99. 304 Pg. Best known as Leisha Kelly, she is the bestselling author of Julia's Hope, Emma's Gift, Katie's Dream, Rorery's Secret, and Rachael's Prayer. Excellent historical/romance fiction.

Remember to Forget, a novel, by Deborah Raney, 2007, Howard Books Publishing, www.howardpublishing.com ISBN: 1-58229-643-X, List price $12.99. Christian fiction/romance. Raney is the award-winning author of several novels, including A Nest of Sparrows and the RITA Award-winning Beneath a Southern Sky, and its sequel, After the Rains. Raney is known for her sensitive portrayal of family struggles and relationships.

Death, Deceit and some SMOOTH JAZZ, An Amanda Bell Brown Mystery by Claudia Mair Burney, 2007, published by NAVPRESS, Colorado Springs. ISBN 1-57683-979-6. Burney is the author of Murder, Mayhem and a Fine Man. www.navepress.com

Tuesday

Why Blog?

"Professional-level" blogging means high quality writing, interesting stories, personal observations, unique coverage, and a friendly, engaging, and interactive style that was until recently sorely lacking in the mainstream media. Read More at blogcritics.org
------------
Terry Whalin asks "Is Blogging Dead?" in an excellent post discussing how important blogs are today:
"An online forum recently asked this question--without anyone giving much of a response. In my last few entries, I've been writing about some of the insight from Bob Bly's new book, Blog Schmog which is a skeptical and practical look at blogging and business. People love absolutes--you must do such and such as a writer. For example, some people are saying every writer must have a blog." read more at Terry Whalin Blogspot
------------
Camy Tang invites Blog Guests
"This is Camy Tang, the loud Asian chick, talking more about the content you post on your blog. You don’t want to be a boring blog, right? Well, change things up a little. Here are a few suggestions at link:" http://canblog.typepad.com/canbookmarketing/2007/01/posting_content_1.html#more

Mary E. Demuth blogs over at relevantblog, pioneerparenting, the Master's Artist, and she blogs at the CAN marketing blog. "I've developed a small readership and, thanks to a fellow blogger, I've used a handy trick to keep the first entry a newspace. (Here's the secret. Shhhhhh. Just date your first entry far into the future and it will always stay the first entry.) When you first start a blog, consider doing a few things" (read more at http://canblog.typepad.com/canbookmarketing/2006/08/marketing_schma.html

Thursday

Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith


This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of seven!)
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Steeple Hill Cafe', 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email: marilynngriffith@gmail.com.
ABOUT THE BOOK:
Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.
Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?
The book link: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0800730429
Marilynn's website link: http://marilynngriffith.typepad.com/rhythmsofgrace/